I took a cartoon voice workshop

On March 2 and 3, 2014, I took a workshop with Susan Hart, big-time voice director and voice casting director. For two whole days, she taught us tips and helped us practice on scripts. And at the end of the second day, we recorded a little demo of some scripts we picked out. In her assessment email to me afterward, she mentioned: “Your comedic timing was fun and can be used for both subtle and big characters.” So I’m excited about my new knowledge and for the new tools I have to bring to the world of voices for animation. Plus, the people in my class we really nice and funny. So I wanted to remember the weekend with a photo of all of us. They were kind enough to oblige. That’s us making the sign for VO (voice over), just in case it’s not clear. When I was walking out of the class at the end of the weekend, I was feeling a bit insecure, because there were some real pros in there. But one girl, who is amazing and actually has a gig as a regular voice on a kid’s TV show, said to me: “You’re so funny! You should do stand-up!” Which gave me a skip in my step the whole way home. Maybe I’ll turn that feeling into a new voice character, named Skippy. 🙂

IMG_1174

Published by

Josh Rachlis

Copywriter, actor, comedian, radio host, screenwriter, cartoonist, singer/songwriter, Green Party candidate, cupcake judge. Follow my awkward, interesting life at http://facebook.com/JoshuaPeterRachlis

Leave a Reply

