My grade 5 class visit gets into school newsletter

(NOTE: This is a post from June 18th that I originally posted at a new site that was being built for me. But that site doesn’t work, so I’m posting here just so the post still exists.)

During the provincial election campaign, a Grade 5 teacher emailed me asking me to come speak to her class. The kids were doing a Student Vote and wanted to hear from all the parties. The night before my visit, I made 30 origami frogs out of old cereal boxes, with my campaign info stamped on them. Then I visited on June 12, which was the day of the election. I was so moved by the experience, I had to quickly write it up and post it with a photo from Starbucks, right after visiting the class. See the photo and read the story here.

The principal told the teacher that we weren’t supposed to give campaign materials to the kids until after the election. So I left the frogs in a bucket for the class.

The principal told the teacher that we weren't supposed to give campaign materials to the kids until after the election. So I left the frogs in a bucket for the class.
The principal told the teacher that we weren’t supposed to give campaign materials to the kids until after the election. So I left the frogs in a bucket for the class.

The teacher, Michelle, emailed me after to tell me that the next day the kids wouldn’t stop playing with my frogs, and they kept talking about my visit. Also, Michelle¬†showed¬†the story to her principal, who liked the story so much that she posted it in the school newsletter! Check it out here.

And best of all, Michelle says that the mom of a certain extra-brilliant student Рwhom I may have mentioned in the story Рhas been talked to and that student might be volunteering for me in the future.

I look forward to visiting the class again. And I’ll be sure to keep you posted on¬†those¬†student¬†eco heroes.

Oriole Park Remark Volume 20   June 13  2014
My story in the Oriole Park Public School newsletter.
Me speaking to the Oriole Park P.S. Grade 5 class about the Green Party.
Me speaking to the Oriole Park P.S. Grade 5 class about the Green Party.
Published by

Josh Rachlis

Copywriter, actor, comedian, radio host, screenwriter, cartoonist, singer/songwriter, Green Party candidate, cupcake judge. Follow my awkward, interesting life at http://facebook.com/JoshuaPeterRachlis

Leave a Reply

